Fredericton Area Research Centres


The Fredericton Area includes York, Sunbury and Queen’s counties.

Fredericton, in York County, is the capital of the Province of New Brunswick. Not only does it hold the provincial seat of government, but it also is the site of the first University in Canada and the Provincial Archives are located on the University of New Brunswick’s campus.

Many Irish are counted among the people who helped to build this area into what it is today. For anyone researching their Irish roots in the Fredericton area, or who has a general interest in the Irish in these counties, the following facilities can provide varying amounts of materials useful in your quest. Please click a link below to go to the specific research centre description:

Family History Center (Church of Latter Day Saints) – Fredericton

Fredericton Public Library – Fredericton

Provincial Archives of New Brunswick – Fredericton